top of page
Search
oliviaokely

Week 3 Studio

This studio gave me a clearer understanding of what my collection could be, I was concerned that I would get too caught up in the functional design of the garments and forget about the aesthetic design. So I am going to design the garments aesthetically first and then make them functional after. I am also going to do a modular collection so that it can be worn by people in wheelchairs and people standing. Through making it a modular collection I can have flowing pieces that might get caught in the wheels of a wheelchair or might not be practical in other ways detach and perhaps reattach somewhere else on the garment.


After the studio I thought about how people who are standing interact with people in wheelchairs. I realised that people standing are always looking down on people in wheelchairs, so I decided to design this collection from the birds eye view, focusing the design around the neck, shoulders and torso.


Studio Notes:



Notes From Alyssa:

Olivia - activism wheelchairs - differently abled - Parsons Masters projects

join collection modular clothing systems

Hybrid

Stelarc

extended bodies,

machine Vs Body

boundaries Horne

keep it open

Current context a difficult time for people that are differently abled

exclusion

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page